A Letter to Lee

Dear Lee,

If there was a way you could touch millions of hearts and make the world a drastically better place you’d want to know about that wouldn’t you? My name is Tim Han. I am a 23 year old Advertising student at Chapman University and I have a way you can do exactly that.

Consider the Grand Narrative that exists in today’s society. Adages like “get as much as you can”, “success breads success”, and “the ends justify the means” flood the consciousness of Americans everyday. This concept of Social Darwinism has made America into a prosperous nation but it has simultaneously ripped away our humanity. Amongst all the clutter that is Advertising, every single message points to the same direction; towards materialsim and a consumer addictive audience.

While advertising has become a near trillion dollar industry, a grand imbalance has swept through the world. According to the UN millennium goal 2012 report, the number of people living on less than $1.25 a day still sits well over 1.4 billion people. The number of preventable child death sat at 1.7 million in 2010. And 1.1 billion people still struggle to consume clean and safe drinking water. Yet these numbers, much like the sarah mclachlan commercial for the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, do little to spark change.

A complete paradigm shift is needed. An altering of our moral compass. It is through Advertising that I look to change the world. If we can brand Coca-Cola, Justin Bieber, why can’t we brand Change? Advertisers characterise those apart of the millennial generation as socially conscious and aware. I look to put this to the test.

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked”. -Luke (12:48).

We are those that have been given much and it is now time to deliver on the demand of those suffering. I believe that every generation gets a chance to make the world a better place and our time is now.Through the rest of this blog I look to gain your support and commitment in creating the change I dream about everyday.

3 comments

  1. I can really relate to this post. I am a pra student here at Chapman with a focus on public relations. As a senior, I am soon venturing into my future career; I am faced with a moral dilemma. Do I ignore my morals and values for an entry level position just to have a job? This post recognizes that change is possible in our industry and gives me hope for the future.

  2. I think it’s really admirable that you have thought so indepth about what your career choices mean for your morals and what they mean for humanity. I can relate to a lot of what you’ve talked about in your blog in terms of wanting to do more, caring more about other, more important issues but feeling almost helpless at least if I decide to go in the career direction of marketing and advertising. It has actually made me question whether it’s a career venue I even want to pursue.

  3. And clearly I’m tired…so indepth…*I don’t even know how to correct that to make it proper English. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

